Mozart, W. A.: Three Movements for Piano Trio, Fragments K. 442

kr 520

For piano, fiolin og cello

SKU: HN 1379 Categories: , , , Produkt-ID: 50208


Mozart often began work on a composition only to put it aside, unfinished. Some of these fragments contain wonderful music, as is proved by these three piano trio fragments. Mozart composed them at different times as individual movements, though the posthumous first edition brought them together as a supposedly new and unknown piano trio by the composer, and on this basis they were given the number “442” in Köchel’s catalogue. The first edition used completions by Mozart’s friend Abbé Maximilian Stadler that were stylistically correct but possessed little originality. This Henle Urtext edition offers both these versions and newly-composed, highly rewarding completions by Robert D. Levin.

Additional information

Weight 116 g
Dimensions 31 × 23.5 × 0.3 cm