MATTHIAS SCHMITT: Sechs Miniaturen

kr 155

For marimba solo


MATTHIAS SCHMITT: Sechs Miniaturen, for marimba solo.

  • Lovely Collection of Short Solos
  • Idiomatic to the Marimba
  • All Solos Have Different Character
  • Difficulty: Medium +
  • Duration: 11:00 Total
  • Requires 5.0 Octave Marimba

Sechs Miniaturen (Six Miniatures) by Matthias Schmitt is a lovely collection of short marimba solos, all with their own character and style. Each piece is written to feel very comfortable on the instrument, and you can feel free to pick and choose which ones you play on a recital or studio class.

Difficulty: Medium +

Duration: 11:00 Total

5 Octave Marimba Required

6 Miniaturen:

1. Allegro con fuoco

2. Adagio

3. Allegro

4. Andante

5. Adagio lento

6. Presto

Om komponisten:

Matthias Schmitt was born in Würzburg in 1958 (17th of January) and was introduced to music at the age of 4. As many of his generation, he got involved in popular music as a listener and musician in bands. At the end of the 70´s, Schmitt came in contact with the composer and percussion teacher, Siegfried Fink wich led to studies and greater involvement whith percussion instruments, which eventually made his career as a composer and teacher.

Since 1996 Schmitt has focused on percussion music, and has created some of the most popular marimba pieces on the market, like «Ghanaia», «Sechs Miniaturen», «Corrido» and «Nocturne» to name a few. His great interest in education shows clearly in his three-volume collection «Young and Sweet (Suite)», which now are available with a CD in each volume.

Additional information

Weight 55 g
Dimensions 29.7 × 21 × 0.3 cm