BARTÓK: Mikrokosmos – Volume 5-6

kr 470

For piano


BARTÓK: Mikrokosmos – Volume 5-6 fra Henle Verlag

BARTÓK: Mikrokosmos – Volume 5-6 (Volume 1-6) is one of the milestones in the pedagogical piano repertoire – and yet it is also far more than a “classical” piano primer. These 153 piano pieces, organised in ascending order of difficulty, engage not only with technical aspects of piano playing. It also with the fundamentals of composition. From “Ostinato”, “Free variations” and “Imitation and inversion” concerning compositional technique, to programmatic ideas as in “From the diary of a fly”. Or the famous “Six dances in Bulgarian rhythm” that form the passionate close of this unique work.

This Henle Urtext Edition is based on the corresponding volume of the Bartók Complete Edition that is currently in preparation. It also includes specific practical comments and tips concerning Bartók’s own performances. Furthermore, the six volumes of the first edition, which first appeared in 1940, are here gathered together in three practical double volumes that offer both beginners and advanced pianists a perfect introduction to this work.

Om komponisten

Béla Bartók was born in the Hungarian town of Nagyszentmiklós (now Sînnicolau Mare in Romania) on 25 March 1881. He received his first instruction in music from his mother, a very capable pianist; his father, the headmaster of a local school, was also musical. After his family moved to Pressburg (now Bratislava in Slovakia) in 1894, he took lessons from László Erkel, son of Ferenc Erkel, Hungary’s first important operatic composer.

In 1899 he became a student at the Royal Academy of Music in Budapest, graduating in 1903. His teachers there were János Koessler, a friend of Brahms, for composition and István Thoman for piano. Bartók, who had given his first public concert at the age of eleven, now began to establish a reputation as a fine pianist that spread well beyond Hungary’s borders. He was soon drawn into teaching: in 1907 he replaced Thoman as professor of piano in the Academy.

Kilde: Boosey & Hawkes

Flere utgivelser fra Bartók

Additional information

Weight 455 g
Dimensions 31 × 23.5 × 1 cm