Liszt, Franz: Weihnachtsbaum

kr 175



Weihnachtsbaum (English: Christmas Tree; French: Arbre de Noël) is a suite of 12 pieces written by Franz Liszt in 1873–76, with revisions in 1881. The suite exists in versions for solo piano and piano four-hands. Weihnachtsbaum does not demand great virtuosity, and it has been described as a distant relation of Schumann’s Kinderszenen and Debussy’s Children’s Corner. It occupies an unusual place in Liszt’s output, and it may be for these reasons that it has received relatively little attention from performers.


1. ‘Psallite’ – Old Christmas Song
2. O holy night – Christmas Song of the Olden Time
3. The Shepherds at the manger (In dulci jubilo)
4. Adeste fideles – March of the Three Holy Kings
5. Scherzoso – Little Scherzo ‘Lighting the Tree’
6. ‘Carillon’ – Chimes
7. Slumber song
8. Old Provencal Christmas Song
9. Evening Bells
10. Old Times
11. Hungarian
12. Polish

Additional information

Weight 160 g
Dimensions 30 × 23 × 0.4 cm