Ståle Kleiberg: Requiem


Requiem for the Victims of Nazi Persecution

(Photo: Kari Vold)

Ståle Kleiberg was born in Stavanger in 1958. He lives in Trondheim, where he is Professor of Music at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Most of his works are composed to commission from outstanding orchestras, ensembles and performers in Norway and abroad. Kleiberg´s music is characterized by a highly distinctive form of extended tonality and by meticulous attention to coloristic details.  Beside recently published pieces such as Aske ( violin solo, inspired by Edvard Munch´s painting Ashes), String Quartet no. 2 and Sonata for Violin and Cello, we are now also publishing his Requiem – for the Victims of Nazi Persecution (text: Edwin Morgan) which is one of his most performed works. The work was premiered at Washington National Cathedral on 11 September 2004, i.e. on the Memorial Day for the terrorist attacks on Manhattan and Washington DC with the Washington National Cathedral choir and chamber orchestra, and has since been given many international performances. His Three Shakespeare Sonnets were performed at The Northern Light Festival on 28 January (another article about the performance can be found here).

A concert dedicated to Kleiberg´s music was given on 3. February by Marianne Thorsen, Øyvind Gimse, Jørgen Larsen, Ole Wuttdal and Bård Monsen. The concert  included pieces such as Aske, Sonata for Violin and Cello, String Quartet No. 2, Piano Trio No. 2, Sonanza e Cadenza  and Ruf und Nachklang.

From the newspaper Adresseavisen :
“Ståle Kleiberg implements his expanded tonality in a masterful way..”
“Ståle Kleiberg´s pianotrio is a resonant and engaging work that really demands your full attention…”

With its premiere on 27. February, and with the internationally distinguished opera singer Elizabeth Norberg-Schulz as artistic director, Ståle Kleiberg’s opera David and Batseba will see three  performances in Stavanger Cathedral.

Ståle Kleiberg’s homepage: www.stalekleiberg.no


Skriv kommentar

Din e-postadresse vil ikke være synlig. Påkrevde felter er markert med *